Posted by: Canadian Sports Chick | April 15, 2009

Introduction

So, this is my very first post on my brand new blog! This post is going to be a little bit of an introduction, both to me and to what this blog is going to be about.

I’m a 25 year-old Canadian girl. I’m a full-time university student, majoring in History. As much as I love History, sports will always be my first love in fact I once wanted to be a sports journalist, but my life took a different path. Hockey is, of course, my first passion and later today I’ll post my predictions about the first round of the Stanley Cup play-offs.

Besides hockey, I’ll write about wrestling (I know it’s not really a sport, but I love my WWE and I’ll definitely be writing about it), football (both NFL and some CFL) and figure skating since I love all those sports as much as I love hockey. Once it comes Winter, there’ll be lots of Olympic talk. I’ll also occasionally write about UFC since The Man (as I will refer to my better half) is passionate about it. The man also loves his soccer (though he hates when I call it that) and though I think it’s boring, I’ll write about that when he makes me watch it. Baseball bores me and I’ve never gotten into basketball (except college–I love March Madness), but I’ll write about both those sports as well when the mood strikes me.

This isn’t going to be a serious, by the number blog. It’s going to be my opinions and a few colourful comments. I do know what I’m talking about, I just take a unique perspective, that’s all. I can be very intense about my favourite teams and favourite sports, but I can also take it all in stride and you’ll see both in this blog. A few jokes and a few partisian comments.

I’m a Toronto girl, so that’s where my allegiances lay for the most part. I’m passionate about my Leafs, but I also love the Sharks and the Avelanche and the Bruins hold a special spot in my heart. The Man, while a huge Leaf fan like me, loves Calgary and we both hate Ottawa and Montreal with a passion. I’m sure it’ll come up.

If we’re talking Baseball, I cheer for the Jays as much as any team since their the hometown team, though I do root for the Red Sox as well (I know conflicting loyalties, but I’ve got a soft spot for the Boston teams), I also hate the Washington Nationals since they should have never left Montreal! In Basketball I cheer for the Raptors out of default since no other team inspires me, but the Man is a Celtics fan and again, I’ve got that soft spot for Boston teams.

Football (American) is where the Man and I disagree the most. The Man likes Miami in the AFC (yuck) and Washington in the NFC. For me it’s Green Bay in the NFC (I’ve rooted for the Pack as long as I can remember) and New England in the AFC (it’s that Boston thing again, I guess), but I also have a soft spot for the NY Giants and the Oakland Raiders since they were my Daddy’s teams. It was my dad that turned me into a sports fan and sometimes I’ll make a comment about him and the teams he loved (hint, he’s the Boston fan) since he was my greatest sports influence. My mom, not as much, but she’s a huge Leafs fan and I know I got that from her.

So there, now you know a little about me and my sports preferences. I guarantee that if you continue to read this blog, you’ll learn more.

Leave a Reply

Categories

