Posted by: Canadian Sports Chick | April 15, 2009

Stanley Cup Round One Predictions

I’m back as promised with my predictions for the first round of the Stanley Cup play-offs. The Man is sitting here watching me, but refusing to make his own predictions. Coward.

We’ll start with the East.

Boston Bruins vs. Montreal Canadians
Montreal in 6.
I know that Boston’s the top seed in the East and Montreal’s #8, but… I put a lot of stock in History and superstition. Montreal and Boston have met in the play-offs 30  times over their history and 23 times Montreal has walked out the victor, including their last three meetings. A few of those times, Montreal has been the better team, but not always. Often when facing Montreal, just chokes. Plus, Montreal has never gone through a decade without winning a Stanley Cup and this is their last chance to do so and I put a lot of stake in Montreal’s tenacity. I’m not sure they’ll win it all, but they’ll make it to the second round at least. I’d love to be wrong, since I  have a soft spot for the Bruins and I hate the Habs.

Washington Capitals vs. New York Rangers
Washington in 6.
I like the Rangers, but I have more faith in the strength of Alexander Ovechkin, which means I’m picking the Capitals. However, I don’t think it’ll be an easy series, which is why I’m predicting six games.

New Jersey Devils vs. Carolina Hurricanes
New Jersey in 7.
I can tell you one thing, this isn’t a series I’ll be watching since neither team interests me in the least. I’m honestly not sure which team I think it is and had to finally go with my gut and say Jersey. I think the teams are evenly matched and when it comes down to it, I’m picking Jersey simply because I have a lot of faith in Martin Brodeur.

Pittsburgh Penguins vs. Philadelphia Flyers.
Pittsburgh in 5.
I have a lot of faith in the Penguins. I think they’re a talented young team who can do great things. I thought they had a great cup run last year and I’d love to see the same from this year.

So those are my predictions for the East, if I’m right, we’ll only see one upset, but it’ll be a big one. Now let’s look at the Western Conference.

San Jose vs. Aneheim
San Jose in 6.
This was a hard one for me, because I love the Sharks, but the Ducks had a great end of the season run. Still, bias aside, I think the Sharks will win this one simply because they’re the stronger team.

Detroit Red Wings vs. Columbus Blue Jackets
Columbus in 6.
I know it’s crazy, but I think Columbus will be this year’s big surprise. Yes, I’m calling for a Montreal upset, but the Habs will never really be a Cinderella team. The Man says I’m crazy and he thinks it’ll be the Wings in 5.

Vancouver Cannucks vs. St. Louis Blue
Vancouver in 7.
I don’t think this will be an easy series, but I have a lot of faith in Roberto Luongo. Plus, I think the Cannucks are an incredibly strong team, plus sentimentally, I have a lot of faith in a certain Swede. But I think the Blues will make them fight for it.

Chicago Blackhawks vs. Calgary Flames
Chicago in 5.
The Man is making a face, but my gut says the Hawks. I love the Flames, but I just don’t see them cutting it this year. They’ll squeak in one game, at home, but the rest will make for an easy Blackhawks victory.

So there are my predictions, two upsets and the rest going with the top seed. I don’t have a lot of factual knowledge to back up my predictions, just my gut and the fact that I’ve been watching hockey since I was a baby. I know some of my predictions are crazy, but hey, crazy things happen during the Stanley Cup Playoffs…

Responses

  1. I would love a CBJ upset against Detroit. I agree that it could be done in 6. http://www.chicshockey.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

