Posted by: Canadian Sports Chick | April 16, 2009

Thoughts on the WWE draft

So the WWE draft was on Monday and today was the supplementary draft. I watched the draft and I have the internet to tell me the results of the supplementary draft, since I had an exam today.

The full list:
WWE Draft Pick #1: MVP To RAW
WWE Draft Pick #2: The Big Show To RAW
WWE Draft Pick #3: Melina To SmackDown!
WWE Draft Pick #4: Matt Hardy To RAW
WWE Draft Pick #5: Triple H To RAW
WWE Draft Pick #6: CM Punk To SmackDown!
WWE Draft Pick #7: The Miz To RAW
WWE Draft Pick #8: Kane To SmackDown!
WWE Draft Pick #9: Chris Jericho To SmackDown!
WWE Draft Pick #10: Vladimir Kozlov To ECW
WWE Draft Pick #11: Maryse To RAW
WWE Draft Pick #12: Rey Mysterio To SmackDown!
WWE Supplemental Draft Pick #1: Mr. Kennedy To RAW
WWE Supplemental Draft Pick #2: Shad To SmackDown!
WWE Supplemental Draft Pick #3: Alicia Fox To SmackDown!
WWE Supplemental Draft Pick #4: Primo Colon To RAW
WWE Supplemental Draft Pick #5: Mike Knox To SmackDown!
WWE Supplemental Draft Pick #6: Ezekiel Jackson To ECW
WWE Supplemental Draft Pick #7: Nikki Bella To RAW
WWE Supplemental Draft Pick #8: Candice Michelle To SmackDown!
WWE Supplemental Draft Pick #9: Zach Ryder To ECW
WWE Supplemental Draft Pick #10: Chavo Guerrero To RAW
WWE Supplemental Draft Pick #11: Ricky Ortiz To SmackDown!
WWE Supplemental Draft Pick #12: Layla To SmackDown!
WWE Supplemental Draft Pick #13: Hornswoggle To RAW
WWE Supplemental Draft Pick #14: DH Smith To ECW
WWE Supplemental Draft Pick #15: John Morrison To SmackDown!
WWE Supplemental Draft Pick #16: Carlito To RAW
WWE Supplemental Draft Pick #17: Natalya To ECW
WWE Supplemental Draft Pick #18: Festus To RAW
WWE Supplemental Draft Pick #19: JTG To SmackDown!
WWE Supplemental Draft Pick #20: Dolph Ziggler To SmackDown!
WWE Supplemental Draft Pick #21: The Brian Kendrick To RAW
WWE Supplemental Draft Pick #22: Charlie Haas To SmackDown!
WWE Supplemental Draft Pick #23: Shane Helms To ECW
WWE Supplemental Draft Pick #24: Brie Bella To RAW

Quick thoughts… Well, the whole world knew Triple H was going to Raw, same with Rey Mysterio going to Smackdown. With Vickie Guererro as the GM of Raw (ugh), I’m not surprised that both Chavo and the Big Show went there as well, though I’m curious how they’re going to resolve Vickie/Edge with them now being on different shows. I’m not a fan of the storyline by any means, but I don’t want them to just have it vanish into thin air as if it never happened. Same thing with Matt Hardy being drafted, since he and Jeff are in the  midst of a storyline and I’d hate to see it just die off.

I’m not surprised that they broke up Miz and Morrison, but I am a little sad because I loved them together. Still, with them both out of ECW, it’d be interesting to see what they can do now and The Man loved Miz’s reaction, especially the kick to Morrison’s gut. I would have liked to see the Colons get split up as well (I really don’t like them), but what can you do?

The diva champions switching places doesn’t mean anything to me. I think Jericho going to Smackdown was a good move since he’s pretty much done all he can on Raw for now. With both titles on Raw, I assume CM Punk going to Smackdown means he’ll cash in Money in the Bank, win the title and bring it back to Smackdown. I’d be okay with that, I love CM Punk.

I was a little surprised that Layla was drafted away from William Regal, but it’s been a while since we’ve seen them together and she’s been doing some actual wrestling lately, so maybe she’s moving past ‘valet’, which would be great. I was very sad about Hornswaggle being drafted away from Finlay–as The Man pointed out, he’s the only reason I like Finlay. I love Hornswoggle. Of course, I don’t want ECW (it’s airs Friday at Midnight here in Canada) and I do watch Raw, so at least now I’ll get to see him and that’s a plus!

Not a lot of huge surprises, but a few moves that I’m interested in seeing where they lead, particularly the Miz/Morrison split.

Leave a Reply

Categories

