Posted by: Canadian Sports Chick | April 17, 2009

Game 1 Thoughts: Blue Jackets vs. Wings, Bruins vs. Habs

First we’ll talk about the two teams I thought would upset, both of whom lost last night.

Ok, I knew that picking the Blue Jackets over the Wings would be a long-shot, but it was what my gut was saying. I know it’s only  game, but this one I might have to admit I was wrong about since I thought if the Blue Jackets could do it, they’d have to do it quickly and last night’s game showed that’s not going to happen. Oh, well, it would have been nice, since I like it when the Wings are upset. I really do.

It wasn’t that Columbus played terribly, they didn’t, especially not in the first round. In the first round they kept it close and even at the beginning of the second they still kept it close, but then it started getting away from them, the 4-1 score. I do hope they’ll fight it out a bit, but I don’t think they’re going to be this years Cinderella.

I predicted a Montreal upset, based purely on superstition. Honestly, I think the Habs could do still it. The Habs and the Bruins have a history of long, drawn-out series and I don’t think this one will be any different. Personally, I’d love to see a Bruins victory, though not sure how I feel about the idea of a Bruins cup… Still, it was a close game, 3-2 up until the last goal and I enjoyed it. I also  love that Boston and Montreal series always seem to get tough and dirty, my favourite kind of hockey.

Leave a Reply

Categories

