Posted by: Canadian Sports Chick | April 24, 2009

Thoughts on the PG WWE

This post is based on a comment I made over on Kevin Eck’s blog, about the new “PG” WWE, here’s my comment:

Should Hornswaggle have been able to beat Natalya? No. But I will say I enjoy his presence on the WWE and I’m grown up, so I can imagine the thrill kids get from seeing him.

Perhaps these things move in cycles. I was a kid during the Hulkamania days and I was allowed to watch because my parents found it harmless viewing (and my folks were pretty strict when it came to TV–most cartoons were banned in my household). By the time the Attitude Era rolled around, I was a teenager and could watch on my own and the nature of the attitude era is what drew my attention back, but… Now that I’m about to be a parent myself, I actually like that the WWE is going PG, because I’d like to be able to watch with my kids. I’m sure I’m not alone in this.

What the WWE needs to do is find some compromise between completely family-friendly and the way things were in the attitude era. Maybe if it’s just giving one of the shows a slightly later time slot and letting it be the more “adult” show, while the other one stays family friendly.

First of all don’t worry, there aren’t any little sport chicks or sport dudes about to make their way into the world just yet, but they are on the horizon and it’s at the point where I’m really thinking about what I’ll do when I have kids, scary as it is. Would I enjoy being able to watch wrestling with my kids? Hell yeah. I used to watch it with my dad when I was growing up and it’s a fond memory. The Man watched it with his big brothers. We had different childhood heroes (I was a Hulkamaniac, he was more of a Bret Hart fan), but the memories are similar and it’s obvious we both treasures those times.

I take pride in the fact that I’m a life-long wrestling fan, but I have to give credit to the fact that as I grew the WWE evolved with me. It was kid-friendly when I was a child, edgy when I was a teenager and now that I’m thinking of having kids, I like the idea of them being able to watch with me. However as an adult, I wouldn’t mind having more edgy comment, since the family friendly stuff gets tiring at time.

With two main brands, Raw and Smackdown, I think that the WWE should make one “kid-friendly” and one more “adult-only”, maybe having it start at 10, when little viewers would be asleep. This way they get to cultivate the family audience without alienating the adult fans. Plus this way it solves the problem of having to keep Raw and Smackdown seprate. Combine the rosters and just have the storylines differ, it shouldn’t be that hard.

Leave a Reply

Categories

