Posted by: Canadian Sports Chick | May 1, 2009

Round Two Predictions

I’m late with this since Round Two actually started yesterday. Oops.

The East

Boston Bruins vs. Carolina Hurricanes
Boston in Five.
The only reason I predicted a Boston loss in the first round was history. I think the Bruins are a much better team than Carolina, plus they’ve had a chance to rest where Carolina hasn’t. I hate predicting sweeps, since it feels mean, so I’m predicting Boston in five games.

Washington Capitals vs. Pittsburgh Penguins
Penguins in Six.
This may be the most interesting series of the second round. Two hot, young teams facing off against each other. It’ll be an exciting series to watch that’s for sure. I’m giving the edge to Pittsburgh because I think they have the better goaltender and that otherwise the two teams are evenly matched, though with Ovechkin and Semin, Fleury will definitely have his work cut out for him.

The West:

Detroit Red Wings vs. Anaheim Mighty Ducks
Ducks in Six.
The red Wings had an easier time with Columbus than I would have thought, but they won’t get as lucky this time. Anaheim is a lot better than their 8th seed ranking makes it look and after taking out San Jose, I think they’ll do the same with the Red Wings.

Vancouver Cannucks vs. Chicago Blackhawks
Vancouver in Five.
I know this one has already started and the Cannucks are leading. I would have predicted a Cannucks victory anyway since I think they’re the stronger team. They took care of the Blues much more easily than I thought they would and I think they won’t have any problems with the Blackhawks. The Hawks played well against Calgary, but Vancouver is a better, stronger team than either Calgary or Chicago.

Leave a Reply

Categories

