Posted by: Canadian Sports Chick | June 7, 2009

Extreme Rules Predictions

So this is a little late (don’t worry tomorrow morning I’ll have my posts on the last month’s worth of Raw & Smackdown recaps, oops), but you didn’t think I was going to miss out on posting my predictions for Extreme Rules did you?

Santina Marella vs. Vickie Guererro in a Hog Pen Match
I’m getting really sick of the whole Santina gimmick quite honestly and I hope that tonight will be the end of it. I’m not a huge fan of hog pen matches, since I think they’re stupid, but they are generally designed to humiliate the heel character (for example, Triple H once wrestled in a hog pen match back when his gimmick was Hunter Hearst Helmsley, the snooty Conneticut blue blood and ended up covered in slop). Vickie has felt more sympathetic to me lately, but she’s the more definate heel of the two and for that reason I think she has to loose.
My Pick: Santina Marella

Kofi Kingston vs. Matt Hardy vs. MVP vs. William Regal for the U.S Title
I’m not quite sure who I think is going to win this one. Hardy seems ready for a real push, which means him getting the title would be logical. But then again, it also makes sense for him to lose and once again prevent his brother Jeff from getting the title out of jealousy, and continue the Hardy brothers feud. I don’t think Regal’s winning the title and I don’t think MVP’s getting it back, so that leaves Kingston. It makes sense for him to retain, because he’d been due for a real push for sometime and I can’t see him having a title win of less than a week and have it count as a real push.
My Pick: Kofi Kingston

CM Punk vs. Umaga in a Samoan Strap Match
Punk has to win this one. Since winning Money in the Bank, he’s lost at two straight PPVs, which makes no sense for someone who’s so over. Punk has been booked strong lately and has cut some great promos and shown that he has the talent to be a real player, but for that to happen, he’s got to get a PPV win under his belt. I’m betting tonight’s the night, but that might just be wistful thinking, since I’m a big fan of Punk’s and I’d like to see him get a real push.
My Pick: CM Punk

John Cena vs. The Big Show in a Submission Match
Have I ever mentioned I can’t stand Cena? I don’t like listening to him talk and I don’t like watching him wrestle. This match holds no appeal for me at all. Cena doesn’t tap, as far as I can remember, he just doesn’t submit, and I’m not sure I can suspend my belief enough to watch him make The Big Show submit, but I’m sure that’s what’s going to happen. Sigh.
My Pick: John Cena

Rey Mysterio vs. Chris Jericho for the Intercontinental Championship in a No Holds Barred Match
I’ve been enjoying this feud more than I thought I would. I still find Mysterio a little repetitive at time, but I love watching Jericho and I think this could be an entertaining match. Jericho’s promised to take the mask tonight and after all the build up, I’d like to see that happen and to see what Mysterio’s next move would be. I think this feud could continue up to Summer Slam and I think for it to continue, then Jericho’s got to take the mask.
My Pick: Chris Jericho

Tommy Dreamer vs. Jack Swagger vs. Christian in an Extreme Rules Match for the ECW Title
This is the match I’ve had the hardest time making up my mind over, to the point where The Man has told me to just pick someone. I do think Christian’s dropping the title tonight, since it makes more sense for either Dreamer or Swagger to win. Dreamer has the nostalgia factor. He’s the old school ECW champion and it’d be nice to see him win one last time. However, it’d be a good move for Swagger to win and have him brag that he forced Tommy Dreamer out of ECW, setting Swagger up as a real heel. Still, at the end of the day, my gut says that for one last time Tommy Dreamer’s going to hold the ECW belt tonight.
My Pick: Tommy Dreamer

Randy Orton vs. Batista in a Steel Cage Match for the WWE Title
Orton’s been booked as the heel who can only win when he stacks the odds in his favour. He kept the title at Judgment Day by DQ and often had Legacy on his side to make up the numbers difference. Tonight, all those factors have been taken away from him and he’ll be locked in a cage with the Animal. If the WWE stays consistent, then Batista should win.
My Pick: Batista

Jeff Hardy vs. Edge in a Ladder Match for the World Heavy-Weight Title
This should be not only the match of the night, but one of the match’s of the year. Two men who have made careers out of ladder matches, facing each other other for the first time one-on-one in a ladder match. Both Hardy and Edge know how to bring it and this should be a spectacular match. Still, to me, the ending seems obvious. This is Edge’s third title match since January and I don’t see it ending now, unless they were going to just give it back to him next month, which seems a little ridiculous. Plus, I know Hardy’s status in the WWE is up in the air and I just don’t see him getting the title.
My Pick: Edge

So there you have it, my picks for tonight. I think that the WWE, Intercontinental, and ECW titles will change hands, while the US and World Heavy-Weight titles will stay put, making a change from the last two PPVs where either all or none of the titles changed hands. Regardless of who wins or loses, hopefully Extreme Rules will deliver a good night of extreme action.

Leave a Reply

Categories

