Posted by: Canadian Sports Chick | July 26, 2009

Night of Champions Predictions

Sorry this is late, I’m hurrying to do this before my birthday/Night of Champions viewing party starts. Yes, today Canadian Sports Chick is 26 years old, where do the years go? Now, moving on from the slow decline of my 20s and onto tonight’s PPV and my picks.

Michelle McCool vs. Melina for the Women’s Championship
I hate Michelle McCool, but I can’t imagine her losing the title so quickly. After all the diva’s seem to hold their titles much longer than the men do, so I can’t imagine that she’ll lose it so early, as much as I think Melina is a worthier champion. Still McCool’s going to retain for now.
My Pick: Michelle McCool

Maryse vs. Mickie James for the Divas Championship
Maryse has had the title even longer than Melina did before she lost it last month and the time is right for Mickie, in my opinion one of the  best divas the WWE has, to be the champion again. This might just be wistful thinking as I don’t like Maryse, but I really do think it’s Mickie’s time, however I don’t think the fued between the divas will be over, not for a long shot.
My Pick: Mickie James

Kofi Kingston vs. The Big Show vs. Jack Swagger vs. Carlito vs. The Miz vs. MVP for the U.S Championship
I think Kofi’s reign is coming to an end and I think the Miz is going to be the one to end it. Carlito seems to be set up for a feud with his brother and Swagger and MVP are being set up to feud with each other, that leaves the Big Show and the Miz and well does ihe Big Show ever win these things? I think he’s just there to be the requisite ‘big’ guy. No, this is the Miz’s time for a big push and probably a program with Maryse against Mickie James.
My Pick: The Miz

Rey Mysterio Vs. Dolph Ziggler for the Intercontinental Championship
This match should be entertaining. Ziggler has really started to gorw on me and I prefer Mysterio in matches where he’s not badly out-sized and these two guys should put on an entertaining show. I definitely think Mysterio’s going to retain though, but in a way that means they have to have a rematch, because this program is likely just beginning and Ziggler looks to be getting a good push, which means at some point he’ll have the IC belt.
My Pick: Rey Mysterio

Chris Jericho and ? vs. Ted DiBiase, Jr. and Cody Rhodes for the United Tag Team Championships
The biggest question of this match is not who will win, since that seems pretty obvious, but who Jericho’s partner will be. Will it be Brian Kendrick who a while ago was looking for a tag team partner? Or will it be someone bigger than that? Jericho and The Miz would be pretty awesome, but since I see The Miz getting the IC title, I don’t see that happening, especially since The Miz just came out of a tag team. Christian would be a good choice, he and Jericho have been partners before and Jericho could say that when looking for a new partner, he finally decided to just choose a better version of Edge. Christian is my choice, but that’s mainly because, as anyone who reads this blog knows, I’m a self-admitted peep. Regardless of who Jericho’s partner is they’re winning and I think tonight will be the downfall of Legacy.
My Pick: Jericho and Mystery Partner

Tommy Dreamer vs. Christian for the ECW Championship
I debated long and hard about this one, because I could see ECW do a Christian/William Regal feud, but I could also see a Dreamer/Regal feud and I really do think Christian will be revealed to be Jericho’s msytery partner, which means he obviously has to lose the ECW championship match and Dreamer has to retain.
My Pick: Tommy Dreamer

CM Punk vs. Jeff Hardy for the World Heavy-Weight Championship
This is a great program, but Punk’s winning it. It just doesn’t make sense for Hardy to win, not when the winner of this match faces John Morrison next month (assuming Teddy Long keeps his promise to his kareoke buddy). Plus, CM Punk makes a good long-time champion, especially as he gets more into his heel persona. Punk’s keeping this one, but in a shady way that frustrates Hardy.
My Pick: CM Punk

Randy Orton vs. Triple H vs. John Cena for the WWE Championship
Randy Orton’s title reign finally ends tonight. It’s the only thing that makes sense. Triple H is not going to not be involved in the Main Event of Summer Slam, but at the same time the WWE surely won’t give us another bout of Triple H/Orton, so it makes snese ofr Orton tonight and for Cena and Triple H to battle it out next month. Plus then Orton is free to be involved in the downfall of LEgacy that I predicted earlier. I think Triple H’s words about caring more about Orton losing than himself winning are going to comke true tonight and that Cena is going to get the victory.
My Pick: John Cena

Of the eight matches, I’m predicting three title changes, which seems fair. All in all, it’ll be fun to see every title of for grabs and see what kind of show the WWE puts on for us tonight.

Leave a Reply

Categories

