Posted by: Canadian Sports Chick | October 26, 2009

Bragging Rights Might be Worst PPV of 2009

I think Bragging Rights gets my vote for worst PPV of 2009. A bad concept, no great matches, and the agony of the Iron Man Match between Cena and Orton… Definitely a waste of $40.

Oh, don’t get me wrong, Bragging Rights had it’s moments. I actually believed why Team Smackdown wanted to win, but was never sold on why Team Raw cared. Most of the matches were good, if not great, and I’m glad that some of the great younger talent got a chance to shine, but still… Not a good night, not by a long shot.

The Miz b. John Morrison
This was the match I was the most interested and it was good. Not as spectacular as I might hoped, but very good. I’m glad The Miz won and won clean. The loss doesn’t hurt Morrison and The Miz needed a big win to show he was ready to play with the big boys and this gave it to him, showed that the WWE takes him seriously. Maybe we’ll get a round two of The Miz vs. Cena in the coming months? If done well, I think that could be spectacular.

Michelle McCool, Natalya and Beth Phoenix b. Melina, Kelly Kelly and Gail Kim
This was the best diva match in a long time. A little lopsided, but that was to be expected. The Smackdown divas dominated, but the Raw divas didn’t look bad. I was glad to see Natalya get a chance to shine and to see Beth Phoenix back on track, because I think she was misused on Raw. I’m also glad that Gail Kim wasn’t the one to get pinned, because she didn’t need that. Melina, on the other hand, can weather the loss.

The Undertaker b. Batista, Rey Mysterio and CM Punk to retain the World Heavy-Weight Championship
This was an ok match and it doesn’t surprise me that The Undertaker retrained, though I think that was the wrong decision. I think Punk deserved the title after the year he’s had, but that’s just me. The biggest story from this match, of course, is Batista’s heel turn and the beating he laid on Mysterio. it was a move I didn’t see coming, but it was a good one because Batista could use the change and a Mysterio/Batista program could be fun to watch.

Team Smackdown b. Team Raw
I totally called this. Smackdown needed to win this one more than Raw did and I predicted that The Big Show would betray Team Raw to set up a program with DX. It was an interesting concept and a pretty good match. I’m glad the younger guys got some decent ring action, it was great to see the Hart Dynasty get some action and though Kofi Kingston was the one to get pinned, it was done in a way to make him look strong, so I’m okay with that. These guys are the future of the WWE and they need to be given the chance to succeed and I think that was the best thing about Bragging Rights, that it put the young talent with the veterans and gave them a chance to learn.

Obviously, we’re getting a DX vs. Jerishow feud, which I think could be exciting. I think a DX tag team title run could be fun and that if anyone should take the titles off Jerishow, it’s DX, who certainly have the same amount, if not more prestige, as the champions and are able to help elevate the belt. If nothing else, having Chris Jericho, The Big Show, Triple H and Shawn Michaels fight for the tag team belts will show that they are definitely worth holding, so I think it’s a great move for the WWE.

I’m also excited about the idea of a Cody Rhodes/Kofi Kingston feud, which seems inevitable from the way these two got in each other’s faces at the end of the match. They’re both young, extremely talented guys who could go far and a feud between them would help them both. I hope the WWE doesn’t drop the ball on this the way they did on MVP and Jack Swagger.

John Cena b. Randy Orton to become WWE champion
This was the main event. It was hyped as the end of Cena and Orton’s epic feud and all I can say is thank God it’s over. Thank God we don’t have to watch these two wrestle each other again, but can I please have that hour of my life back? I’m sorry, but it was bad and it was boring. It wasn’t an epic battle, it was a battle to stay interesting and they failed. Iron Man matches are tough, but Cena and Orton should have been able to pull it off, they should have been able to deliver a satisfying ending to their feud, which has had some good battles, but they didn’t. The predictable Cena victory didn’t help. I’m just glad it’s over.

I’m surprised that Ted DiBiase didn’t get involved in a bigger way than that one run-in, I would have liked to see more conflict from him, after the events of last week’s Raw. I also would have liked to have seen Dolph Ziggler at least make an appearance. Maybe those two things would have helped make Bragging Rights a little less awful.

Leave a Reply

Categories

