Posted by: Canadian Sports Chick | December 15, 2009

Slammy Award Predictions

So tonight is the Slammy Awards and I figured I’d give my predictions. I debated between stating who I think should win and who I think will win. So, this is a combination, with me giving both who I think it should be and who I think it will be.

SUPERSTAR OF THE YEAR
• The Undertaker
• John Cena
• Randy Orton
• CM Punk
Is there an option for none of the above? Punk would have been my choice until about September, when his push seems to have been seriously derailed. The Undertaker was gone half the year, so that leaves us the over-exposed duo of Orton and Cena. Ugh. I’ll go with Orton on this one, though I think that if the year had ended in September, Punk would have been a shoo-in.
Who Should Win: Randy Orton
Who Will Win: Randy Orton

EXTREME MOMENT OF THE YEAR
• Kofi Kingston lands a Boom Drop on Randy Orton at MSG
• Big Show chokeslams John Cena into arena spotlight at Backlash
• Jeff Hardy jumps from a ladder onto CM Punk at SummerSlam
• Triple H invades Randy Orton’s home
The Triple H moment is a rehash of an older Stone Cold storyline and thus shouldn’t count and I didn’t find the Kingston moment that extreme. I think it should be the Big Show chokeslamming John Cena, but it probably won’t be. It’ll probably be the Hardy ladder jump.
Who Should Win: Big Show chokesalms John Cena into arena spotlight at Backlash
Who Will Win: Jeff Hardy jumps from a ladder onto CM Punk at SummerSlam

SHOCKER OF THE YEAR
• Batista turns against former friend Rey Mysterio
• Randy Orton DDTs Stephanie and forces Triple H to watch
• CM Punk forces Jeff Hardy to retire after steel cage match victory
• Sheamus slams Raw host Mark Cuban through a table
This should be an obvious one. The Sheamus moment was ‘meh’ and while Hardy’s retirement and Batista’s heel turn had a bit of a OMG factor (more so the Batista turn, since it was well-reported that Hardy was leaving after SummerSlam), they couldn’t compare to the shock and horror of Randy Orton chaining Triple H to the ring, DDTing his wife and then kissing her. It was definitely the most stunning moment of the year.
Who Should Win: Orton DDTs Stephanie and forces Triple H to watch
Who Will Win: Orton DDTs Stephanie and forces Triple H to watch

MATCH OF THE YEAR
• Jeff Hardy vs. Edge ladder match at Extreme Rules
• Shawn Michaels vs. Undertaker at WrestleMania
• John Cena vs. Randy Orton “I Quit” match at Breaking Point
• Team Raw vs. Team Smackdown at Bragging Rights
I know I’m in the minority here, but I found the HBK/Undertaker match boring. It just didn’t do it for me. I found the Cena/Orton “I Quit” match to be much more compelling with it’s intensity. Still, the rest of the world loved the Wrestlemania match, so that’s what it’ll be, I’m sure.
Who Should Win: John Cena vs. Randy Orton “I Quit” match at Breaking Point
Who Will Win: Shawn Michaels vs. Undertaker at WrestleMania

THE “OH MY” MOMENT OF THE YEAR
• Chris Masters performs special “dancing pecs” routine for Osbournes
• Shawn Michaels superkicks little girl in cafeteria
• Michael Cole vomits on Chris Jericho at Smackdown’s 10th Anniversary
• Santino Marella accidentally nails Vickie Guerrero with a pie
Most of these were actually pretty funny and I’d be happy with any of them, actually. However the Chris Masters one was definitely the most memorable, so it would be my choice.
Who Should Win: Chris Masters performs special “dancing pecs” routine for Osbournes
Who Will Win: Chris Masters performs special “dancing pecs” routine for Osbournes

DIVA OF THE YEAR
• All divas are eligible. This is the only award that will be determined by fan voting.
Who’s the most popular diva? It seems to be Mickie James, so she’ll be the winner. I personally find all the divas pretty useless, so not a category I care about.
Who Should Win: No idea
Who Will Win: Mickie James

BREAKOUT STAR OF THE YEAR
• Yoshi Tatsu
• Drew McIntyre
• Sheamus
• Abraham Washington
I don’t watch ECW, so I don’t know who two of those guys are. I was a little confused by this category, because I expected to see Kofi Kingston, John Morrison and The Miz all nominated. I know that none of them debuted this year, but this is definitely the year they broke-out, however I guess the WWE and I have different ideas about how this category should work. Both McIntyre and Sheamus have gone through major pushes, so it definitely comes down to the two of them and while I like McIntyre better, I have to go with the new WWE champion.
Who Should Win: Drew McIntyre
Who Will Win: Sheamus

TAG TEAM OF THE YEAR
• Jerishow
• DX
• Legacy
• The Hart Dynasty
I love, love, love the Hart Dynasty and I adore Legacy, but neither of them has a chance. Honestly, Jerishow barely has a chance, no matter how dominant they’ve been. I think it should be Legacy, since they’ve been together the whole year and have come across as so strong (even though they never held the titles this year), but we all know who it will be. DX reunited this year, sold lots of merchandise and won the tag team titles and now they’ll be tag team of the year.
Who Should Win: Legacy
Who Will Win: DX

RAW GUEST HOST OF THE YEAR
• Ozzy and Sharon Osbourne
• Bob Barker
• Seth Green
• Shaquille O’Neal
I want it to be Seth Green, since he was my favourite non-wrestler guest host, but I know it won’t be. I was torn between Shaquille O’Neal or Bob Barker, since both were huge, but I think it’ll be Bob Parker since The Price is Raw was a huge hit and got some mainstream publicity, which is the point of the whole guest host concept.
Who Should Win: Seth Green
Who Will Win: Bob Barker

There you go, of the nine categories, my should and will picks line up only three times, but that’s because I tend to see things differently than the average wrestling fan and I know it. What can I say? I’m an original.

Leave a Reply

Categories

