Posted by: Canadian Sports Chick | January 1, 2010

Last Show of 2009 Feels Like A Sign of Good Things to Come

So the last Raw of 2009 didn’t suck, so that’s a positive. It wasn’t the best show I’ve ever seen, but it was decent and it definitely built the tension for next week. More on that in a moment.

After the last two weeks of awful programming, this week’s Raw at least didn’t make me want to turn it off. I actually came in late and was interested enough to catch the first half hour on the replay later. So yay for Raw.

The Legacy thing was… Interesting. Not sure why Ted and Cody are so desperate to be part of Randy’s little pack at this point, but… Legacy has to break up soon and I guess this is a way of rebuilding tension, though I’ve been predicting a Legacy break-up since April, so… I would like to see Ted and Cody have one more run as tag team champions before the break-up though and really I’d like to see Legacy get back to the top before it all falls apart. Have Randy get the title back, have Legacy get the tag team titles (preferably from the Hart Dynasty since that would be an awesome program to watch) and have it fall apart post-Wrestlemania. Yes, it drags it out a bit, but at this point, what’s a few more months and I think a Legacy break-down deserves to be given time and could be the hot storyline of the months between Mania and Summerslam.

The fact that the Orton/Kofi Kingston feud is obviously not over factors into my desire for a delayed Legacy feud. Right now, I’m predicting Kofi as the winner of the 2010 Royal Rumble, and I think Orton will either get the title back from Seamus that night or in the elimination chamber at No Way Out and he and Kofi will end their rivalry once and for all with a title bout at Mania, which Kofi will win and that will be the beginnings of the end of Legacy–a year after I first predicted it.

The DX skit was stupid, but it hinted at tension between the partners, which is key at this stage. DX’s reunion seems to run it’s course and it’s time for another Shawn Michaels/Triple H feud and another Triple H heel run. I imagine DX will drop the tag team titles at Royal Rumble, though I’m not sure to who. Personally, I’m hoping for the Hart Dyansty.

The Seamus/Cena rematch was… Ok. Not great, not terrible. But it was what it was and I’m glad that Seamus is keeping the belt, but Cena’s keeping his streak. Cena’s obviously getting the belt at some point, but I don’t think it’s happening soon and as I posted earlier, I think Orton will be the one to take the belt off Seamus, which should happen in the next couple weeks.

The Jerishow break-up speech… That was a classic segment that had me laughing out loud. I love the Jericho/Big Show bromance and I’m personally to see it end. On the other hand, I don’t want Jerishow to regain the tag team titles, so… I guess all good things must come to an end. *sob*

The best part of this weeks Raw was undoubtably Vince McMahon’s promo announcing the return of Bret “The Hitman” Hart. I’ve written about my opinion on the Montreal Screwjob and I personally see Bret Hart’s return as a sign of good things to come. Maybe now, the Montreal Screwjob can finally be put in the past where it belongs and everyone involved can get the closure they obviously need. So, I’m pretty psyched about next week, though not as much so as The Man, who can’t wait to see his favourite wrestler back on his TV.

All in all, it was a pretty good show and next week promised to be even better. 2009 might not have ended with a bang, but at least with the promise of better things to come in 2010, which is enough for me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

