Posted by: Canadian Sports Chick | February 22, 2010

Elimination Chamber Predictions

Ok, so the second PPV of 2010 is just an hour away. This is a special one for me, because it marks a full-year of my return to watching wrestling. Last year, we watched No Way Out, making it the first PPV I watched in almost a decade. So this is a little sentimental for me, plus I like Elimination Chamber matches, I think they’re fun. Let’s see how I think it’s going to go tonight.

Kane vs. Drew McIntyre for the Intercontinental Championship
There’s no way Kane is wining this one. TPTB seem to have a lot of faith in McIntyre and I think he’s going to have a nice, long run with the IC, similiar to the one The Miz is enjoying on Raw with the U.S title. I think having him face Kane is a good move though, since Kane is still considered a big threat and a victory over him will help solidify McIntyre’s position.
My Pick: Drew McIntyre

Gail Kim vs. Maryse for the Divas Championship
I’d love to see a swerve and have Kim end up with the title. I think she’s a very talented wrestler who has been incredibly wasted on the WWE this last year. However, I don’t honestly think that’s happening. As soon as Maryse came back from injury, you knew they were going to put the title on her and I’m sure that’s what will happen tonight. I just hope it’s short, since I’ve made it perfectly clear how I feel about diva matches.
My Pick: Maryse

The Raw Elimination Chamber: Triple H vs. John Cena vs. Randy Orton vs. Kofi Kingston vs. Ted DiBiase vs. Seamus for the WWE Championship
If Kofi actually makes it into the chamber, then he’ll automatically improve on last year’s performance and I think that’s about all he can ask for. Same with DiBiase, who is likely going to be more focused on Orton, than on the title, which is why I don’t see either of them winning. So that leaves Cena, Triple H and Seamus. Cena’s got a program with Batista heating up and doesn’t need the title and I think it would make a mistake for Seamus to be champion going into Wrestlemania, so that means Triple H is winning tonight. He’s a good choice and this sort of match is where he’s at his best, plus it’s been a year since his last title victory, so I think it’s time.
My Pick: Triple H

The Smackdown Elimination Chamber: John Morrison, Chris Jericho, Rey Mysterio, CM Punk, R-Truth vs. The Undertaker for the World Heavyweight Championship

I wouldn’t be surprised if Morrison didn’t actually make it into the chamber. I think his ankle “injury” will make him unable to compete and Shawn Michaels will take his spot and go after The Undertaker. Honestly, unless the WWE pulls a big swerve, Jericho is winning this one. It’s the obvious next step in his feud with Edge, plus I think the time is right for a Jericho title run.
My Pick: Chris Jericho

Those are the only matches on the card, but I think we’ll also see a tag match of some kind, though not sure against who. Whoever it is, ShowMiz isn’t losing the titles, not this soon anyway. We’ll almost certainly see Edge in some sort of promo back stage, same with Batista. It’s a light card, so I’m counting on there being at least one surprise match.

Leave a Reply

Categories

