Posted by: Canadian Sports Chick | March 28, 2010

Wrestlemania XXVI Predictions

It’s that time again! Just an hour to the start of Wrestlemania XXVI and it’s time for me to do my favourite part of blogging, which is making PPV predictions. I’m not cray about the nitty gritty recapping, but I love making predictions and guessing where I see the storyline going. Maybe it’ s the writer in me, that I love the creative direction and this is the most exciting prediction yet, because there’s no bigger night of the year than Wrestlemania.

Rey Mysterio vs. CM Punk
The stipulation is that if Mysterio loses he joins the Straight Edge Society. While that would be interesting, I don’t see that happening. Yet, Mysterio wanted a street-fight and I see that happening at Extreme Rules next month, so… I think Punk wins, thanks to interference from Luke Gallows and Serena and sets up a rematch next month.
My Pick: CM Punk

R-Truth and John Morrison vs. The Big Show and The Miz for the Unified Tag Team Titles
R-Truth and John Morrison don’t feel like a real team and they’re not the right choice to hold the tag team titles. The problem with the tag team division is that the only real tag team that The Miz and the Big Show have gone up against is DX and even then, Triple H and Shawn Michaels are singles stars who team together for kicks. I think the focus tonight will be the history between former partners John Morrison and The Miz, who are two of the company’s rising stars and I think tonight they’ll both be showcased well, but that the Miz will ultimately get the victory.
My Pick: ShowMiz

Vickie Guererro, Maryse, Michelle McCool, Layla, and Alicia Fox vs. Beth Phoenix, Mickie James, Kelly Kelly, Eve Torres, and Gail Kim
This match is a write-off and if it makes it on to the PPV, it’ll be brief. I think the face divas are winning, based on current TV schedules.
My Pick: Beth Phoenix, Mickie James, Kelly Kelly, Eve Torres, and Gail Kim

Money in the Bank Ladder Match- Christian vs. Evan Bourne vs. Kofi Kingston vs. Drew McIntyre vs. Jack Swagger vs. Dolph Ziggler vs. MVP vs. Matt Hardy vs. Kane vs. Shelton Benjamin
This is the biggest Money in the Bank match ever, but even with 10 competitors, only a few have a chance. Bourne and Kane have no chance. Kofi Kingston seemed a sure-in a couple months ago, but that push seems to have died off. Ziggler and Swagger seemed like up-and-comers in the summer, but like Kingston, their stock seems to have fallen. MVP and Matt Hardy are never making it out of the mid-card. Benjamin’s a possibility, but it’ll be either Christian or McIntyre who wins. McIntyre might be a safer bet, but I have to go with Christian, out of sentimentality of nothing else. He deserves the chance to shine and I hope he gets it tonight.
My Pick: Christian

Triple H vs. Sheamus
This could be an interesting match and could go a long-way to promote Sheamus as a legitimate contender. Triple H is said to be a big fan of Sheamus’ back stage and it wouldn’t surprise me if he put him over tonight.
My Pick: Sheamus

Randy Orton vs. Ted DiBiase Jr. vs. Cody Rhodes
Legacy will look strong, but they’ll start feuding with each other, though they’ll start as a cohesive unit, and Orton will capitilize.
My Pick: Randy Orton

Shawn Michaels vs. The Undertaker, Career vs. Streak
The Streak isn’t, and shouldn’t, end tonight. It’ll be a good match, Shawn Michaels will look strong, but he’s not winning tonight. Not sure if this will be the real end of his career or not, but he is losing tonight.
My Pick: The Undertaker

Bret Hart vs. Vince McMahon
I don’t think there’s anyone in the entire world who thinks Vince is winning tonight. Bret Hart will win and the Montreal Screwjob will finally be put to rest after more than twelve years.
My Pick: Bret Hart

Edge vs. Chris Jericho for the World Heavy-Weight Championship
Edge winning makes for a feel-good story. Plus, I think Edge makes a better long-term champion than Jericho (who the WWE has never seemed to take seriously as a champion). After Edge’s miraculous return at the Royal Rumble, he seems to be a sure-in for victory, which could mean the opposite will happen, but I don’t think so.
My Pick: Edge

John Cena vs. Batista
John Cena is the poster child of the WWE and him winning makes for a feel-good moment and I think that’s what will happen. Plus, it’ll leave it open for a brutal rematch at Extreme Rules, which I think will just elevate the feud. This isn’t ending tonight, not by a long-shot.
My Pick: John Cena

Leave a Reply

Categories

