Posted by: Misha | June 28, 2009

The Bash Preview

Still having a hard time not thinking of this PPV as The Great American Bash, but whatever. At least The Bash is shorter. Not incredibly excited about this one, but what can you do?

The Great Khali vs. Dolph Ziggler
This is not a match that excites me at all. Neither of these wrestlers entertains me that much and I find Ziggler really, really irritating. However, he seems to be getting some kind of a push lately and on Raw on Monday, they seemed to be pointing out that Khali is a giant and hard to beat, so that makes me think that Ziggler will be winning tonight. Joy.
My Pick: Dolph Ziggler

Melina vs. Michelle McCool for the Women’s Title
Can I state again how much I think that Maryse and Mickie James should have been the ones wrestling tonight, instead of these two? I hate, hate, hate the idea of Michelle McCool being the first woman to hold both titles, but I’m afraid that’s going to happen because Melina has held the title for six months (since the last time a Diva’s match was shown at PPV) and it seems time for a title change, but then Maryse has held it for longer. With Night of Champions next month, being all about every title changing hands, it actually makes sense to me for the big ‘Will their be a first woman to hold both champions? And if so, who will it be?’ question then, so I’m going with Melina to win this one and then have them have a rematch next month.
My Pick: Melina

Chris Jericho vs. Rey Mysterio for the Intercontinetal Championship in a Title vs. Mask Match
As much as I like Jericho and would prefer to see him win this one, I’m going with Mysterio. If Mysterio loses, he gives up the mask and Mysterio just isn’t Mysterio without the mask, so he’s winning this one. Which, hopefully, means this feud is coming to an end, because it’s really starting to bore me.
My Pick: Rey Mysterio

Carlito and Primo vs. Ted DiBiase and Cody Rhodes for the Unified Tag Championships
The time is right for Legacy to hold the title, especially as I think Orton will be losing it tonight (more on that later) and Rhodes and DiBiase winning their match, while their leader loses his… Well, it could be the beginning of the end for Legacy (about time, really), plus I love the idea of watching Rhodes and DiBiase later battle fellow legacy wrestlers (and heels) the Hart Dynasty for the title, which I think would be the next logical step if they win tonight, so I’m banking on DiBiase and Rhodes. Plus, I also just think that they’re the  more talented tag team pair.
My Pick: DiBiase and Rhodes

Tommy Dreamer vs. Christian vs. Finlay vs. Jack Swagger vs. Mark Henry
Well, I do think Dreamer, who was the sentimental favourite at Extreme Rules will likely lose the title. He got his title run, he proved he still had it, but I can’t see him as a long-time champion. I also don’t see Mark Henry winning the title because he doesn’t seem over enough and I still hope that the WWE has better plans for Christian than burying him on ECW, so that leaves Jack Swagger and Finlay. It seems easy to say Swagger will win and it’ll boost his heel credential, but being the whiny, entitled former champion works for him and for some reason, I just can’t get over the idea that Finlay is going to win tonight in a total twist.
My Pick: Finlay

John Cena vs. The Miz
Yay, it’s not Cena vs. The Big Show! I’m actually intrigued by this match and I’d like to see what The Miz can do when given the chance to be on a bigger stage. Cena doesn’t normally lose, but I think he might tonight, though if he does it’ll almost certainly be because of interference from the Big Show.
My Pick: The Miz

CM Punk vs. Jeff Hardy for the World Heavy Weight Championship
Punk is thriving with this new big push of his and his tweener status and I can’t see it ending just yet. I thibk this will be an intense match and it’ll look like Hardy has it won when Punk comes back and retains his title.
My Pick: CM Punk

Randy Orton vs. Triple H in a Three Stages of Hell Match for the WWE Title
I’m pretty sure Triple H is winning this one, but it’ll definitely going to the third stage. Triple H will win the first stage, Orton will win the second stage and then Triple H will come back and win the final stage. Part of the reason I’m so sure that it’ll happen is the symmetry of Triple H putting Orton on a stretcher to regain the title, since last time they faced at a PPV, Orton had him leaving the match on a stretcher. Plus, I think it’s time for this feud to end and I don’t see it ending as long as Orton holds the title.
My Pick: Triple H

It seems strange to not see Edge on the card for a PPV, but at least it means that tonight, at least, I won’t get my hopes up for an Edge/Christian reunion…


Leave a comment

Categories